More from the portraiture class

I hadn’t posted anything from my portraiture class since November, because I’d produced nothing but pish since we started painting. In the last two classes, though, I think I’ve had more success. We had a different model in each, so you had to work quickly to get a painting finished in the two hours. That was good, because it forces you to work more generally and not get bogged down trying capture lots of detail early on. In the past, when we’ve had the model for 2 – 3 weeks at a time (i.e. 4 – 6 hrs), I’ve tended to work at a slower pace, trying to be really accurate from the get go, and I’ve ended up with pieces that look stiff and lifeless. Moreover, I’ve not really gotten very far either.

For example:

Head - oil on canvas paper (6 hrs)

Fairly shite.

By comparison, I think the following two are much better. This is last week’s painting of the same model. Unfortunately, the photo is not great – the weave of the canvas has come up quite visibly – so the colours don’t look as solid as they do in real life. However, there’s a looseness and spontaneity about this painting which I like, and which is missing from the one above. You get a reasonable sense of the light striking the right hand side of the face, although the likeness is not that strong. [EDIT – I replaced the original image with this slightly better one:]

Head - oil on canvas (2 hrs)

And this is last night’s effort, which, despite being the least finished of the three, is the best in my view:

Head - oil on canvas board (2 hrs)

I’m pretty pleased with this. The brushwork is lively and loose, the tonal range is working pretty well and the colours are fresh and clean – although my tutor suggested that I probably could have pushed the saturation a little further in certain areas, which I think is true. It’s also not a bad likeness. With more time,  think I could have honed the likeness and fleshed this out into something pretty decent. In future, when we have the model for longer periods, I’m going to work at this pace from the outset. The challenge will be to retain the spontaneity of the brushwork whilst refining the image and capturing the finer detail.

~ by cdrfuzz on January 24, 2012.

4 Responses to “More from the portraiture class”

  1. love the third one; really stands out

  2. Very nice, Lewis – yep, last one is great.

Leave a Reply

 
