Paisley Art Institute Annual Exhibition and Leiper Fine Art Early Summer Show

I have work showing in a couple of exhibitions at the moment- The Paisley Art Insitute’s (PAI) 127th Annual Exhibition at the Paisley Museum and Art Gallery; and the Early Summer Show at the Leiper Fine Art Gallery on West George Street in Glasgow.

The PAI show is on until the 28th of June and there is a huge amount of work on show. I will have to go back and have a proper look, as it was impossible to take it all in on the opening night. I think I must have been just about the last person to submit work, arriving as I did about ten minutes before the end of the receiving day. I was all the more delighted, therefore, to have won the top prize – The Arnold Clark Award – for my painting “Heather” (below). I’ve had work accepted into a couple of quite prestigious open exhibitions before, but this is the first time I’ve ever won an award for my work, so I was, and still am, shocked, amazed and over the moon.

Heather, Oil on canvas, 100cm x 50cm

Heather, Oil on canvas, 100cm x 50cm

The other show, though on a much smaller scale, is definitely just as worthy of attention. Ewan and Niall at Leiper have managed to pull together a real gem of an exhibition with works from an extraordinary variety of artists, with a diverse range of styles and subject matter. There really is something for everyone -from realism to abstraction and everything in between – and the eclecticism of the show is what really makes it work, in my opinion. Have a look at the names on the flyer at the bottom of this post for an idea of the range of what’s on offer. I have three small still life paintings hanging, which you can see below:

Walnut & Shammy Cloth, 10cm x 6cm, Oil on Canvas

Walnut & Shammy Cloth, 10cm x 6cm, Oil on Canvas

strange child web

Strange Child, 24cm x 18cm, Oil on board

eggs and bowl

Bowl with Eggs, 18cm x 12.5cm, Oil on board

Here’s the flyer for the show at Leiper, please do go and have a look around if you’re in Glasgow. It’s a beautiful space, Ewan and Niall are lovely chaps and you are bound to see something you like. Trust me.

early summer show

~ by cdrfuzz on May 28, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
