Affordable Art

As someone who creates (or at least attempts to create) art for a living, yet never has the money to actually buy any, the idea of making work that’s within the price range of your average garret-dweller is something that I’ve often thought about, but never really made a concerted effort to do. Which is not to say that I generally sell my work at prohibitively high prices – I think they’re pretty reasonable, at least by the standards of the local market – but £300 – £400 is still not an inconsiderable sum of money, especially with the pound tanking and food prices on the rise, etc. So over the next couple of weeks I’m planning to produce a series of unframed, small paintings and simple studies, on paper or daler-board, which are all going to be for sale on my shop for less than £100. Just in time for Christmas too (I know, sorry). I haven’t yet made a start on these, but I will post updates here as and when they become available, as well as via my Twitter page. In the meantime, I’ve put a couple of old landscape studies up, so why not have a look (click on the images to go to the product page):

mackenzie-landscape-oil-painting-morningtrees

mackenzie-landscape-oil-painting-signpost

~ by cdrfuzz on October 20, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
