Working from Old Photographs.

I thought I’d share a few portraits I’ve done from other peoples’ photographs. I usually prefer to work from life wherever possible, or my own photographs when it isn’t, but there are situations where that isn’t practical or possible. Surprise Christmas presents for example (cough) aren’t much of a surprise if you have to get the “surprisee” to sit for them. Likewise, posthumous portraits obviously have to be done from existing source material. Often, people commission a painting from old photographs to celebrate precious memories that they’ve caught on camera. Whilst I still think that the best results are achieved when working from life or from original photographic source material, painting from clients’ own photographs can still produce good results.

If you are interested in commissioning a portrait from one of your old photographs, please get in touch via my website, email me at: artist@lewismackenzie.co.uk, or hit me up on Twitter. Have a look at my guide to commissioning a portrait for more information.

peter-portrait_001

mackenzie-portrait-oil-painting-hawthorn-bank

mackenzie-pet-portrait-oil-painting-ben-cropped

for-mairi

MacKenzie_L_Mal

2015-12-09-10-58

mackenzie-pet-portrait-oil-painting-baillie

~ by cdrfuzz on November 22, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
